We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Quiet Drones 10

by Quiet Drones

All music by Scott M2 + Jamie Todd.


Volume ten in the ongoing Quiet Drones compilation series of electronic, ambient and experimental drone music, featuring: Chromosphere, Heiki, Matt Thibideau, naw, dreamSTATE, Northumbria, Quiet Waves, Dark Constellations, Bitter Harvest and Adam Terejko.

The first volume of the Quiet Drones ambient compilation series appeared back in 2007 and has been recently remastered and reissued on paper+sound. Quiet Drones 10 features many of our favourite artists to have previously submitted music to past volumes of the series. Most of the tracks included here are exclusive pieces or remixes from the artists.

"Black Lakes Big Bay" opens the Quiet Drones 10 album with a epically lush collaborative piece from Kris Helström Heiki Sillaste.

Prolific Toronto based musician Matt Thibideau offers his “Composition For Abandoned Instruments”. Sourced sounds from historical pianos, harpsichords, celestas and reed organs. Some old and broken others abandoned instruments.

Toronto based musician naw’s “Memories of screen porch sunsets” is made up of samples from field recordings captured on a remote Georgian Bay island and improvised live to two tracks, using only an Ipad and a field recorder.

Founded in 1995, the dreamSTATE duo of Scott M2 (Scott McGregor Moore) and Jamie Todd have blazed trails in Canadian live ambient-soundscape performances and helped to nurture the vital Toronto ambient music scene. Summers Drone is an exclusive to QD10.

Northumbria was formed in late 2011 as an outlet for the exploration of live ambient guitar and bass improvisation. Guitarist Jim Field and bassist Dorian Williamson use their effect-laden instruments to weave dense maximalist drones and subtle melodic ambience, incorporating elements of drone metal, post-rock, gothic and dark ambient.

Processor’s music is created using driving bass guitar rhythms, pulsing synthesizer sequences, tapes and other
modulated sounds.

Quiet Waves is a new minimalist electronic sound project from London, ON- based musician Edward Matthews, whose previous musical ventures have included the dub-reggae and world-beats of Noise Level, as well as the darker, more industrial sounds of EKM.

Dark Constellations “The Black Sea of Trees” formed by sonic explorers Rob Boak and David S. Faris. The group’s material incorporates aspects of ambient, drone, abrasive sounds, hazy guitar tones and disorienting loops.

Bitter Harvest is one of the many musical projects of Scott Righteous. He has released various electronic oddities, including ambient, and electronic dub records. The most recent release is a 70's inspired album entitled Om:Light.

Adam Terejko is a Toronto based musician, visual artist and accidental actor. He is self taught and once flew a small airplane for a second. He is 5’11”. “Mass & bisect” was produced with phone and mellotron in the wee small hours of the early evening.

Toronto’s paper+sound label has been operating since 2009, releasing a wide range of electronic-based music in it’s ten year existence. This is the 64th release for the label. Continuously putting out music on cassette, vinyl albums, vinyl 7″, compact discs and digital only downloads.

All of the tracks on Quiet Drones 10 have been mega mixed into one long continuous ambient mega mix, by paper+sound label chief Heiki Sillaste and Chromosphere’s Kris Helstrom.


released September 10, 2019

Compiled/photos/design by Heiki Sillaste.
Explosives by Wick.

Mastered at Wright Sounds, Toronto
by Kris Helstrom and Heiki Sillaste.
Summer 2019.



all rights reserved



Quiet Drones Toronto, Ontario

Quiet Drones is a continuing compilation series of experimental ambient drone music.

contact / help

Contact Quiet Drones

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Quiet Drones recommends:

If you like Quiet Drones, you may also like: